Shopping Cart

Chemistry for Breakfast

The Amazing Science of Everyday Life

Regular price $29.95

This book is not yet available. Contact us with questions or information requests.

Details
  • ISBN: 9781771647489
  • Tags: Biography & Memoir, Science,
  • Dimensions: 5.5 x 8.5
  • Published On: 4/13/2021
  • 240 Pages
Description

Available April 13, 2021!

A whirlwind romp through everyday science, perfect for fans of How Stuff Works, Stuff You Should Know and Netflix’s Explained.

In this quirky and endlessly surprising book, a quick-witted chemist reveals the amazing

science behind everyday things (like drinking water, breakfast and trips to the dentist) and not-so-everyday things (like space travel and baby dinosaurs). Dr. Mai Thi Nguyen-Kim uses the same relatable style that makes her a popular YouTuber to explain scientific concepts everyone should know.

Over the course of a single day, Mai shows us that amazing science happens everywhere—we just have to look for it. In the morning, her partner’s much-too-loud alarm prompts a deep dive into biological clocks and fight-or-flight responses, followed by a coffee with a side of heat conduction and states of matter. Mai continues with explainers of cell phone technology, food preservation, body odor, the effects of alcohol and the science behind the expression “love drunk.” At the book’s end, she leaves readers with an appreciation of facts and a basic understanding of the fascinating science of everyday life.

Filled with charming illustrations and Mai’s own (often hilarious) personal anecdotes, Chemistry for Breakfast turns the ordinary into extraordinary. With Mai as your guide, you’ll find something fascinating in everything around you.

DR. MAI THI NGUYEN-KIM is a chemist and science journalist. During her doctoral studies at Harvard, she started the YouTube channel The Secret Life of Scientists, which marked the start of her mission to “infect” people with a love of science. She lives in Germany, where she hosts a national TV series on science and produces the YouTube channel maiLab.